

Support New York Assembly Bill 1926 (A01926)

This bill, with bipartisan sponsorship in the Assembly Election Law Committee, seeks to **close a significant election financing loophole**. Current law, as interpreted by the State Board of Elections (SBOE), allows a single individual to make multiple contributions to the same candidate or committee through separate LLCs. Often it is difficult to know who is ultimately directing the contributions.

Section 1 of the bill adds LLCs to Election Law § 14.116 to provide that LLCs are subject to the aggregate contribution limit of \$5000 that applies to corporations. It also requires disclosure of the identity of all direct and indirect owners of the LLC.

Section 2 amends § 14-120 of the Election Law by enacting regulations that prevent the avoidance of the established rules. (i.e., closes loopholes).

The bill has passed the Election Laws Committee in the Assembly and is now being considered by the Codes Committee. Assembly Members who are within NYCD16 are listed in italics.

<u>Members of the NY State Assembly Codes Committee</u>:, **Chair**, Joseph Lentol, **Members**, **Thomas Abinanti**, Vivian Cook, Steven Cymbrowitz, Patricia Fahy, Joseph Giglio, Al Graf, Andrew Hevesi, Charles Lavine, Tom McKevitt, Michael Montesano, Angelo Morinello, Walter Mosley, Daniel O'Donnell, N. Nick Perry, **J. Gary Pretlow**, Edward Ra, Robin Schimminger, Michele Titus, Helene Weinstein, David Weprin, Kenneth Zebrowski,

Click here to locate your Assembly member and contact information.

The STATE SENATE is considering the same legislation under bill # S00496.

The Senate version is being considered by the **Elections Committee**. (None of these members is within the NYCD16 area)

Committee Chair: Fred Akshar, (R, C, IP-52) , **Ranking Member:** Leroy Comrie (D-14), **Members:** George A. Amedore, Jr. (R,C,IP-46), Tony Avella (D, IP-11), Martin Malave Dilan (D-18), Patrick M. Gallivan (R,C,IP-59), Liz Krueger (D,WF-28), Kathleen A. Marchione (R,C,IP)-43), James Tedisco (R,C-49)

While none of the State Senators within the CD16 area are on this committee, here is contact information for our Senators:

MEMBER Jeffrey D. Klein	ALBANY OFFICE Legislative Office Building, Room 915, Albany , NY 12247 PHONE: 518-455-3595	DISTRICT OFFICE 1250 Waters Place, Suite 1202, Bronx , NY 10461 PHONE: (718) 822-2049	ZIP CODES 10463, 10470, 10471, 10803, 10552
Andrea Stewart- Cousins	185 State Street Room 907, Legislative Office Building, Albany , NY 12247 PHONE: (518) 455-2585	28 Wells Avenue, Building #3, Yonkers NY 10701 PHONE: (914) 423-4031	10502, 10530, 10583, 10703, 10705, 10706, 10801, 10804
Jamaal Bailey	Legislative Office Building Room 707, Albany , NY 12247 PHONE: (518) 455-2061	959 East 233rd St. Bronx , NY 10466-3207 PHONE: 718-547-8854	10466, 10467, 10469, 10550, 10553
George Latimer	615 Legislative Office Building, Albany , NY 12247 PHONE: (518) 455-2031	222 Grace Church Street Suite 300 Port Chester, NY 10573 PHONE: (914) 934-5250	10528 ,10538, 10543, 10573, 10580, 10701, 10704, 10707, 10708, 10709, 10710, 10805